Volunteerism is an essential part of our Fellowship. Each May, we honor a person, couple, or family who has made significant contributions in time and talent to the Fellowship. The Volunteer Service Award Committee will select the recipient(s) from nominations received from you, the members. The deadline for nominations is April 14. Nomination forms and details are available at the foyer display and also online using this form.  Contact Caron Armstrong (coordinator@uufws.org) with questions.

Nominees should...

  • be members, supporters, or associate members in good standing;
  • demonstrate a history of engagement in a variety of activities that contribute to congregational life;
  • reflect a commitment to the seven principles and be in covenant with the Fellowship mission and vision statements (see below).

Nominees may be individuals, couples, or families but may not be previous recipients of the award (see recipient list below).

A little history...
Volunteerism is an essential part of the life of this Fellowship. We celebrate the hard work of our many volunteers, and we remind ourselves why we do the work we do.

The Jo Dawson Volunteer Service  Award was first presented to Jo Dawson in 1999 upon her retirement from serving 18 years as the editor of our newsletter. The Board of Trustees wanted to honor her,  and  to  do  that  they established an annual award.

In  response to the Board  presentation of the first award, Jo said, “As  longtime members  realize, there is no amount of volunteer time or effort that can adequately match what the Fellowship gives to those who choose it as their family.  It is, in my opinion, how the ideal family ought to be:  free thinking, forgives silly mistakes, awakens compassion  and offers a foundation from which to challenge narrow-mindedness and meanness. May it ever be so.”

Past Recipients:
1999- Jo Dawson
2000- Family Schmid - Ernie, Donna, Herman and Cindy Naylor
2001- Harold O. and Shirley Goodman
2002- Arch and Jessie Bush
2003- Arnold and Marjorie Gelbin
2004- Tom and Daisy Fowler
2005- Dee Best
2006- Susan Ott
2007- Geraldine Zurek
2008- Susan and Jack Campbell
2009- Gregg Jamback
2010- Janet Loew
2011- Joan Wright and Will Wright
2012 - Patty and Tom Ricono
2013- Janet Owen and Seretha Masdon
2014- Dave Moffatt, Anne Garvey, Caitlin and Ruth Moffatt
2015- Andi and Ken Ostberg

2016- Ann Barefield
2017- Pat Reck and Alexandra Carpenter
2018- Pat and Tom McKay

Our Vision:  To become a fully inclusive, compassionate faith community known for working boldly and deeply for justice.

Our Mission:  Our mission is to foster spiritual growth, care for each other, protect and preserve the earth, and work for peace and justice.

We base our lives together on these principles:

  • The inherent worth and dignity of every person
  • Justice, equity and compassion in human relations
  • Acceptance of one another and encouragement to spiritual growth in our congregations
  • A free and responsible search for truth and meaning
  • The right of conscience and the use of the democratic process within our congregations and in society at large
  • The goal of world community with peace, liberty, and justice for all
  • Respect for the interdependent web of all existence,  of which we are a part

Nominations are due by April 14. Please provide generous details about your nominee. 

click to submit your nomination